Hall of Fame


Evelyn Kazen


Paul Donovan David Russell
Richard Allard Carl Kazen
Bob Mangelinkx Roy Smith

Mission Statement

The mission of the Massachusetts Trapshooting Hall of Fame is to honor and reward those persons who have contributed to the sport of trapshooting for 15 consecutive years by either a record of outstanding shooting accomplishments, a history of service to the MATA as an officer or Committee member or a history of contributions to the sport that might include MATA events or introduction of new shooters to the sport all with an emphasis on sportsmanship.
The committee will consist of seven members who will meet 2 to 5 times a year to review the submitted records of the nominees. Voting will be by telephonic or paper ballot and a simple majority will be required for induction. The nominees’ names and the committee’s voting results will remain undisclosed until the Hall of Fame Committee Chairperson notifies the nominator and nominee. One member will be responsible for minutes which will be archived.

Nominee Requirement
  • The candidate must have been an active member of the ATA and MATA. He or she must have been an outstanding participant in either the shooting venue or service to the MATA for a period of no less than 15 consecutive years for either category. The individual also has to have demonstrated true sportsmanship during that period.

  • For shooting accomplishments, a concise written shooting record must be submitted… this can be obtained from the ATA if unavailable through local research (there is a nominal fee to acquire a written shooter’s history report from the ATA). The nominator may call the ATA office at (618) 449-2224 or send an e-mail to sthurau@shootata.com for this information.

  • For service accomplishments there must be a written statement that shows either dedicated service as an officer or Committee Member in the MATA or contributor to the sport of trapshooting for a period of no less than 15 consecutive years. It should contain information about the types of service, dates, and contributions to the sport and/or how they enhanced the sport.

  • Any nominee may have a combination of any of the above and needs to have written documentation of all categories that apply.

  • All nomination requests must be clearly written and may be submitted to any committee member. The nominator must provide the Hall of Fame Committee with the individual’s name, address and ATA number along with the nominator’s contact phone number or email address.

  • The committee will meet to discuss and vote on the nomination. A majority vote of acceptance will be required and the committee chair will notify the nominator and nominee in writing of the Hall of Fame Committee’s decision.

  • For questions or nominations please contact Chairperson Evelyn Kazen at: cat8tales@aol.com.

Hall of Fame
1998 Bill Anzaldi
1998 Kenny Lucht
1998 Les Holbrook
1998 Walter Peterson
1998 Roy Smith
1999 John Parks
2003 Orin Arlin
2003 Dick Shaughnessy
2011 Richard Allard
2011 Robert Hawkes
2011 Bob Mangelinkx
2011 Donna Smith
2012 Bob Holbrook
2013 Robert Nihtila Sr.
2016 Jim Armitage
2016 Richard Hamlett
2017 Robert Nihtila Jr.
2017 Linda Brodeur